Kano Assembly sack majority leader


The Kano Assembly has impeached its Majority Leader Lawan Abdul-Madari representing Warawa Constituency.

Abdul-Madari was immediately replaced with Kabiru Hassan-Dashi.

Abdul-Madari was impeached following an impeachment motion moved by a recently sworn-in member representing Bunkure local government in the house, Uba Gurjiya.

Gurjiya was sworn in as a lawmaker on Tuesday during the plenary session presided over by the Speaker, Abdulazeez Garba-Gafasa, following his victory during the recent rerun elections in the state.

The newly elected lawmaker moved the motion on behalf of 23 of the 28 All Progressive Congress (APC) lawmakers in the house.

Gurjiya said the decision to remove the majority leader followed the agreement of 23 of the 28 APC lawmakers in the 40-member parliament.

Although the reasons for Abdul-Madari removal was not stated, the lawmaker’s removal might not be farfetched from his confrontation with his colleagues, during the house the last plenary where he vehemently opposed the nomination of a local government education secretary supported by other lawmakers.

The impeachment motion was seconded by another APC member representing Bagwai/Shanono, Ali Shanono.

The legislators unanimously adopted the motion and called for the removal of the majority leader.

APC lawmaker representing Sumaila Constituency, Hamza Masu, nominated the deputy majority leader as the majority leader.

The nomination was seconded by some of the members and adopted by the assembly.