Irabor, Attahiru, Gambo, Amao confirmed as Service Chiefs


The Nigerian Senate has confirmed the appointment of the new Service Chiefs.

The new Service Chiefs are: Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenucheya lrabor – Chief of Defence Staff (CDS); Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff (COAS); Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief of Naval Staff (CNS) and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao – Chief of Air Staff (CAS).

They replaced the former Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

The approval followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Defence which recommended their confirmation.

The Committee is chaired by Senator Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto North).

Read Also: Senate confirms ex-service chiefs, others as ambassadors

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, had on Wednesday two weeks ago referred the request of President Muhammadu Buhari to the committee on Defence for further legislative work.

Lawan, gave the Senator Wamakko-led committee two weeks to carry out their assignment and report to the Senate in plenary.

Lawan urged the new Service Chiefs to take the war to the bandits and insurgents and dislodge them in their strongholds.