9 Imo Lawmakers defects to APC


Barely a week after the shocking Supreme Court judgement sacking Emeka Ihedioha of the People’s Democratic Party, (PDP) as Governor of Imo State and affirming Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the true winner of the March 2019 election, nine lawmakers of the state House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

This is closely followed by the resignation of Okey Onyekanma, as Deputy Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly and Chairman, House Committee on Rules and Business and the minority leader Ekene Nnodimele.

The lawmakers include: Authur Egwim (Ideato North) from AA to APC; Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), PDP; Chidiebere Ogbunikpa(Okigwe), PDP; Obinna Okwara(Nkwerre), AA; and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) also from PDP to APC.

Others are Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu) from APGA to APC, Johnson Duru(Ideato South), AA; Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) AA; and Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema) from PDP to APC.

The letters of resignation and defection was read by the speaker, Collins Chiji, at the plenary.